Pieter-Steph du Toit was named the SA Rugby Player of The Year for 2018, marking it the second time in three years that the loose forward scooped top award in South African rugby.

Only four other players since 1992 claimed this title more than once. They are Bryan Habana (2005, 2007, 2012) , Schalk Burger (2004, 2011) , Jean de Villiers (2008, 2013) and Fourie du Preez (2006, 2009).

The 26-year-old Du Toit was superb last year and moved his test tally up to 46. He was also the Bok captain for the first test against Wales in Washington.

Du Toit’s stats are staggering. He appeared in all 14 tests in 2018. He and Steven Kitshoff are the only two players fea

turing in every test match for the Springboks in 2018. He made a massive 202 tackles, 128 ball carries and took 28 lineouts.

“This is a magnificent achievement for Pieter-Steph and very well deserved after a superb season for the Springboks and the Stormers. On behalf of the entire South African rugby fraternity, I would like to congratulate him,” said SA Rugby president Mark Alexander.

“Pieter-Steph was a tireless work-horse for the Springboks in 2018 and apart from the many big hits and strong runs he put in, he also played a key leadership role within the team. He’s only 26 and by all accounts he still has his best years ahead – something I’m sure most Bok supporters will keep a very keen eye on.”

Rassie Erasmus, director of rugby and Springbok coach, added: “Pieter-Steph was simply superb last year and he thoroughly deserves this award. His contribution to the team, as a tireless work horse who never gives up, but also as one of the leaders in our squad, was invaluable, and I would like to congratulate him on this wonderful achievement.”

The other nominees for player of the year was Malcolm Marx, Handre Pollard, Franco Mostert and Aphiwe Dyanyti.

Written by Carl Coertzen

Credit Image Sport24 and SA Rugby