Springbok coach Rassie Erasmus has made three changes to his starting XV to face the All Blacks at Loftus Versfeld in Pretoria this Saturday.

Prop Steven Kitshoff replaces Tendai Mtawarira who drops to the bench, veteran loose forward Francois Louw will start in the number 8 jersey in the place of Sikhumbuzo Notshe who also drops to the bench and inside centre Damien de Allende has recovered from his shoulder injury to take the number 12 jersey with Andre Esterhuizen dropping out of the match day 23.

Fullback and playmaker Willie le Roux will play in his 50th test against the old foe. Rassie Erasmus congratulated Le Roux on his achievement recalling that he wasn’t impressed by Le Roux as a player when he was coaching the Stormers. Since then the 29-year-old proved Erasmus wrong and is now a stalwart in the Bok backline.

On the bench prop Vincent Koch will play his first test in almost two years.

Meanwhile All Black coach Steven Hansen has named his team to face the Boks at a sold out Loftus Versfeld.

102-test prop Owen Franks returns to the starting line up and captain Kieran Read returning at number 8. Ofa Tu’ungafasi and Ardie Savea drop to the bench as a result.

In the backline, Aaron Smith returns to the starting scrumhalf spot with TJ Perenara on the bench, while Jack Goodhue has been named at centre for his sixth Test, with Ryan Crotty to provide impact off the bench.

This test match promises to be as big as it gets as the Boks will try to make it two wins from two against their old foe and the All Blacks will try to get revenge for the Wellington test.


South Africa

15 Willie le Roux, 14 Cheslin Kolbe, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Aphiwe Dyantyi, 10 Handre Pollard, 9 Faf de Klerk, 8 Francois Louw, 7 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 6 Siya Kolisi (captain), 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Malcolm Marx, 1 Steven Kitshoff

Substitutes: 16 Bongi Mbonambi, 17 Tendai Mtawarira, 18 Vincent Koch, 19 RG Snyman, 20 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 21 Embrose Papier, 22 Elton Jantjies, 23 Damian Willemse

New Zealand

15 Ben Smith, 14 Waisake Naholo, 13 Jack Goodhue, 12 Sonny Bill Williams, 11 Rieko Ioane, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Kieran Read (captain), 7 Sam Cane, 6 Shannon Frizell, 5 Scott Barrett, 4 Sam Whitelock, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Codie Taylor, 1 Karl Tu’inukuafe

Substitutes: 16 Nathan Harris, 17 Tim Perry, 18 Ofa Tu’ungafasi, 19 Patrick Tuipulotu, 20 Ardie Savea, 21 TJ Perenara, 22 Richie Mo’unga, 23 Ryan Crotty

Written By Carl Coertzen – 05/10/18