The All Blacks were crowned 2018 Rugby Championship winners after beating Argentina in Buenos Aires 35-17.

Number 8 Luke Whitelock was a late withdrawal from the side as the All Blacks scored five tries through wings Rieko Ioane (2) and Waisake Naholo, replacement lock Patrick Tuipulotu and centre Anton Lienert-Brown.

Flyhalf Beauden Barrett rediscovered his kicking boots after his nightmarish performance a fortnight ago against the Springboks to land four conversions with replacement pivot Richie Mo’unga adding the fifth.

The Pumas were benefactors of a contentious try after 57 minutes by replacement scrumhalf Tomas Cubelli after French referee Mathieu Raynal bizarrely referred the decision to his TMO, only to overrule his ‘no try’ decision.

Argentina fullback Emiliano Boffelli added a second, less controversial try 10 minutes later, both of which were converted by flyhalf Nicolas Sanchez, who also added a penalty.

The All Blacks will now head to Loftus Versfeld as they seek revenge after their loss to the Boks in Wellington.

This is the All Blacks 16th Rugby Championship (previously Tri-Nations) title.

Written By Carl Coertzen – 01/10/18