Springbok coach Rassie Erasmus made four changes to his side that famously beat the All Blacks two weeks ago.

Wing Cheslin Kolbe and No 8 Sikhumbuzo Notshe will make their run-on debuts for the Boks. Regular No 8 Warren Whiteley sustained a groin injury during the week, ruling him out of the clash with Australia. He should be fit for next week’s encounter with New Zealand.

Jessie Kriel moves back to his favourite position of outside centre after starting on the right wing against the All Blacks. He will partner with the strong Andre Esterhuizen in a revamped midfield after injuries to Damien de Allende and Lukhanyo Am.

In the front row, Beast Mtawarira rotates with Steven Kitshoff who drops to the bench. Mtawarira is by far the most experienced Bok on the field with 106 caps.

On the bench loose forward Marco van Staden replaces Francois Louw who returned to his club. Scrumhalf Embrose Papier is now the back-up scrumhalf in the place of Ross Cronje. Versatile back Damien Willemse returns to the bench.

For the Australians, captain Michael Hooper returns to lead the side as coach Michael Cheika has made four changes. Loose forward David Pocock will move to the No 8 position in the place of injured Pete Samu.

In another back-row change, Ned Hanigan comes in on the other flank for Lukhan Tui, who did not travel after an ugly spat with a supporter after the Gold Coast beating by the Pumas.

Tui requested a break from international rugby following the recent death of his stepfather and the altercation with a spectator, who pushed a sister of the Wallabie after the Test.

Lock Adam Coleman replaces Rory Arnold and tighthead prop Taniela Tupou will make his run-on debut with Allan Alaalatoa dropping to the bench.

Scott Sio is set to win his 50th cap on the opposite side of the front row for the Test at Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium in the coastal city.

Coach Michael Cheika kept faith with flyhalf Kurtley Beale and scrum-half Will Genia amid media calls for playmaker Bernard Foley to start instead of being on the bench.

Australia haven’t tasted victory on African soil since 2011. Their best result in recent year was a 27-all draw in Bloemfontein last year.

Saturday’s clash will be the first meeting between the two sides in Port Elizabeth since 1963, when South Africa won 22-6.


South Africa

15 Willie le Roux, 14 Cheslin Kolbe, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Andre Esterhuizen, 11 Aphiwe Dyantyi, 10 Handre Pollard, 9 Faf de Klerk, 8 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 7 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 6 Siya Kolisi (captain), 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Malcolm Marx, 1 Tendai Mtawarira

Substitutes: 16 Bongi Mbonambi, 17 Steven Kitshoff, 18 Wilco Louw, 19 RG Snyman, 20 Marco van Staden, 21 Embrose Papier, 22 Elton Jantjies, 23 Damian Willemse


15 Dane Haylett-Petty, 14 Israel Folau, 13 Reece Hodge, 12 Matt Toomua, 11 Marika Koroibete, 10 Kurtley Beale, 9 Will Genia, 8 David Pocock, 7 Michael Hooper (captain), 6 Ned Hanigan, 5 Izack Rodda, 4 Adam Coleman, 3 Taniela Tupou, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 Scott Sio

Substitutes: 16 Folau Faingaa, 17 Sekope Kepu, 18 Allan Alaalatoa, 19 Rory Arnold, 20 Rob Simmons, 21 Nick Phipps, 22 Bernard Foley, 23 Jack Maddocks

Written by Carl Coertzen – 28/09/18