25 August 2018 – Argentina v South Africa – Estadio Malvinas, Mendoza

The return of lock Franco Mostert is the only change Springbok coach Rassie Erasmus has made for his team’s second Rugby Championship match against Argentina in Mendoza.

According to Erasmus, the big lock needed some rest after his heavy workload during the Super Rugby. Mostert will form a second row partnership with the physical Eben Etzebeth, with Pieter-Steph du Toit moving to the bench as cover.

Lock RG Snyman makes a return to the match 23 in the place of Marvin Orie, who is not touring, while prop Wilco Louw also forms part of the match 23, rotating places with Thomas du Toit.

Erasmus kept the backline unchanged.

For Argentina, Tomas Lavanini replaces Matias Alemanno at lock in the only change to the starting fifteen for the Pumas.

Alemanno takes Lavanini’s place on the bench, where there are three new faces with centre Jeronimo de la Fuente, scrumhalf Tomas Cubelli and hooker Facundo Bosch being promoted.

The Pumas will be seeking only their second victory against the Springboks at home after one win, one draw and 11 losses in Argentina since their first meeting 25 years ago.

If the bookies are to be believed, the Boks will win this match, to make it two from two. However, Erasmus and his players will know that the Pumas are a very different side in front of their home crowd. The crowd is always very passionate with stadium seats being close to the field, which causes a hostile environment for the visiting side and its supporters.

The 45-year-old Erasmus will be hoping that flyhalf Handre Pollard will have his kicking boots on this Saturday. Last week Pollard could only succeed with two of his six attempts at goal. In Argentina, where the match is expected to be a lot closer, a few missed kicks could mean the difference between winning and losing.

The loose forward combination of Warren Whiteley, Francois Louw and Siya Kolisi will also need a bigger performance than last week.


South Africa – 5 Willie le Roux, 14 Makazole Mapimpi, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Andre Esterhuizen, 11 Aphiwe Dyantyi, 10 Handre Pollard, 9 Faf de Klerk, 8 Warren Whiteley, 7 Siya Kolisi (captain), 6 Francois Louw, 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Malcolm Marx, 1 Tendai Mtawarira

Substitutes: 16 Bongi Mbonambi, 17 Steven Kitshoff, 18 Wilco Louw, 19 RG Snyman, 20 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 21 Embrose Papier, 22 Lionel Mapoe, 23 Damian Willemse

Argentina – 15 Emiliano Boffelli, 14 Bautista Delguy, 13 Matias Moroni, 12 Bautista Ezcurra, 11 Ramiro Moyano, 10 Nicolas Sanchez, 9 Gonzalo Bertranou, 8 Javier Ortega Desio, 7 Marcos Kremer, 6 Pablo Matera, 5 Tomas Lavanini, 4 Guido Petti, 3 Juan Figallo, 2 Agustin Creevy (captain), 1 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro.

Substitutes: 16 Facundo Bosch, 17 Santiago Garcia Botta, 18 Santiago Medrano, 19 Matias Alemanno, 20 Tomas Lezana, 21, Tomas Cubelli, 22 Jeronimo De La Fuente, 23 Juan Cruz Mallia

Prediction – Springboks by 7

Written by Carl Coertzen – 24/08/18