Robin McBryde Wales coach makes hiis squad slection


The Wales side for their summer fixtures has been released, and Jamie Roberts is set to captain the side.

New coach in the Wales camp, Robin McBryde has named 13 un-capped players for the two games, so it looks like it will be make or break for McBryde this summer. Wales face Tonga on the 16th of June, followed by a fixture against Samoa on the 23rd of the same month, both being tough challenges for the Welsh.

Wales will look to pick up where they left off in the Six Nations after they pulled off a pleasing tournament; but will they be able to do it, with some of their biggest names doing their duty for the Lions.

McBryde has said what he expects of the new look side, stating; “The senior players will be expected to display their leadership qualities, and we want the younger men to show they’ve got what it takes to handle the intense international environment”. With McBryde saying this, it looks like he is looking at the bigger picture, rather than the short term.

With McBryde taking this approach to his squad selection, who thinks that he will be deserving of a permanent place in the Wales set up?

His 32 man side can be seen below.

Forwards: Scott Baldwin (Ospreys), Jake Ball (Scarlets), Adam Beard (Ospreys), Kristian Dacey (Cardiff Blues), Seb Davies (Cardiff Blues), Ryan Elias (Scarlets), Rob Evans (Scarlets), Tomas Francis (Exeter Chiefs), Ollie Griffiths (Newport Gwent Dragons), Cory Hill (Newport Gwent Dragons), Ellis Jenkins (Cardiff Blues), Wyn Jones (Scarlets), James King (Ospreys), Samson Lee (Scarlets), Josh Navidi (Cardiff Blues), Nicky Smith (Ospreys), Rory Thornton (Ospreys), Thomas Young (Wasps).

Backs: Cory Allen (Cardiff Blues), Gareth Anscombe (Cardiff Blues), Alex Cuthbert (Cardiff Blues), Aled Davies (Scarlets), Gareth Davies (Scarlets), Sam Davies (Ospreys), Steff Evans (Scarlets), Keelan Giles (Ospreys), Tyler Morgan (Newport Gwent Dragons), Jamie Roberts (captain, Harlequins), Owen Williams (Leicester Tigers), Rhun Williams (Cardiff Blues), Scott Williams (Scarlets), Tomos Williams (Cardiff Blues).