Today saw the announcement of the New Zealand Olympic 7s team for both the Men’s and Women’s squad. After another great season for the All Blacks, surely these two sides are the teams to beat going into the historic event for Rugby Sevens.

The men’s team features the return of Scott Curry and also the infamous Sonny Bill Williams. After injuring his shoulder at the Dubai Sevens last year, Curry returns to captain the side.


The New Zealand Olympic Men’s Rugby Sevens team is:

Scott Curry (captain) (Bay of Plenty)
Sam Dickson (Canterbury)
DJ Forbes (Counties Manukau)
Akira Ioane (Auckland)
Rieko Ioane (Auckland)
Gillies Kaka (Hawke’s Bay)
Tim Mikkelson (Waikato)
Augustine Pulu (Counties Manukau)
Teddy Stanaway (Bay of Plenty)
Regan Ware (Bay of Plenty)
Joe Webber (Bay of Plenty)
Sonny Bill Williams (Counties Manukau)

Travelling reserves; Sione Molia (Counties Manukau), Lewis Ormond (Taranaki)

The New Zealand Olympic Women’s Rugby Sevens team is:

Shakira Baker (Waikato)
Kelly Brazier (Bay of Plenty)
Gayle Broughton (Taranaki)
Theresa Fitzpatrick (Auckland)
Sarah Goss (captain) (Manawatu)
Kayla McAlister (Auckland)
Huriana Manuel (Auckland)
Tyla Nathan-Wong (Auckland)
Terina Te Tamaki (Waikato)
Ruby Tui (Canterbury)
Niall Williams (Auckland)
Portia Woodman (Counties Manukau)

Travelling reserves: Michaela Blyde (Taranaki), Shiray Tane (Hawke’s Bay).

Check out the highlights from the 2015/16 Rugby Sevens season here to wet the appetite…