Future stars of the rugby will descend upon England this June as the World Rugby U20 Championship heads to Manchester.

Hosted by the RFU, the World Rugby U20 Championship will take place at AJ Bell Stadium, home of Sale Sharks, and Manchester City’s Academy Stadium, offering back-to-back international rugby in June 2016. The tournament will be shown live on Sky Sports HD as part of the RFU’s ongoing partnership with the broadcaster

Previously known as the IRB Junior World Championship, the World Rugby U20 Championship is a 12-team tournament, owned and governed by World Rugby.

Three nations have lifted the trophy: New Zealand (2008-11 and 2015), South Africa (2012), England (2013-14)

370+ former U20s players have made the step up to senior international level, including RWC 2015 winners Sam Whitelock, Brodie Retallick, Sam Cane, Julian Savea and Aaron Smith of New Zealand, Wales captain Sam Warburton, Ireland’s Conor Murray and England’s own Henry Slade and Jack Nowell. Jack Clifford and Maro Itoje were winning captains in 2013 and 2014 respectively.

Get involved!

There are lots of ways that clubs, schools and individuals can get involved, whether it’s participating in the specially designed educational and cultural programmes or the pre-tournament build-up events which include: the trophy tour; twelve team welcome ceremonies; the Future Stars of Rugby Reporting competition, in association with the Manchester Evening News; and official launch event on June 4.

Community rugby festivals will take place at both stadiums on match days, and our Legacy team will be running various programmes – targeting a broad range of ages and skills.

Take a look around the World Rugby U20 Championship hub for more information on the tournament, including ways to get involved.

With tickets as little as £5 for children and £10 for adults, there is plenty of opportunity for supporters to get behind our talented young rugby players as they look to pick up their third World Rugby U20s title #FutureStarsofRugby