Stuart Lancaster has trimmed his training squad to 39 players ahead of England’s upcoming QBE Internationals and the Rugby World Cup.

Those selected will return to Pennyhill Park on Sunday to resume their preparations with Chris Ashton (Saracens), Lee Dickson (Northampton Saints), Kyle Eastmond (Bath Rugby), Matt Kvesic (Gloucester Rugby), Matt Mullan (Wasps), Semesa Rokoduguni (Bath Rugby) and Marlard Yarde (Harlequins) all heading back to their clubs.

England face France at Twickenham on Saturday 15 August, a crucial fixture in terms of solidifying combinations and gauging individual form.


Head Coach Lancaster said: “We had a great two-week camp in Denver where the entire squad worked extremely hard and were exceptional in the way they went about the training.

“That has continued this week and competition for places has been very intense.

“It has been difficult to narrow down the squad as everyone has contributed and given their all. But what I have said to those guys who are not coming back in on Sunday is that the door is not closed by any means.

“They are only an injury away and there is a lot of international rugby to be played this season, culminating in a three-Test tour to Australia.

“Overall we are in good shape. Both Nick Easter and Ben Morgan are now fit and we want to give them both opportunities to train fully and prove their form and fitness next week.”


England training squad

Dave Attwood (Bath Rugby)
Brad Barritt (Saracens)
Kieran Brookes (Northampton Saints)
Mike Brown (Harlequins)
Sam Burgess (Bath Rugby)
Luther Burrell (Northampton Saints)
Danny Care (Harlequins)
Danny Cipriani (Sale Sharks)
Calum Clark (Northampton Saints)
Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers)
Alex Corbisiero (Northampton Saints)
Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs)
Nick Easter (Harlequins)
Owen Farrell (Saracens)
George Ford (Bath Rugby)
Jamie George (Saracens)
Alex Goode (Saracens)
James Haskell (Wasps)
Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby)
George Kruis (Saracens)
Joe Launchbury (Wasps)
Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints)
Joe Marler (Harlequins)
Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby)
Ben Morgan (Gloucester Rugby)
Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs)
Geoff Parling (Exeter Chiefs)
Chris Robshaw (Harlequins)
Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs)
Billy Twelvetrees (Gloucester Rugby)
Mako Vunipola (Saracens)
Billy Vunipola (Saracens)
Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby)
Rob Webber (Bath Rugby)
Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens)
David Wilson (Bath Rugby)
Tom Wood (Northampton Saints)
Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)
Tom Youngs (Leicester Tigers)