England Head Coach Stuart Lancaster has named his squad for the 2015 Six Nations with some interesting additions to the team.

Harlequins Number 8 Nick Easter and Sale Sharks fly half Danny Cipriani have both been named in the squad whilst hooker Rob Webber and wingers Semesa Rokoduguni and Marland Yarde are both overlooked.

The squad will now meet up at Penny Hill Park on Monday 26th January as they prepare for their Six Nations opener against Wales on Friday 6th February.

The squad include five British and Irish Lions after they returned from injury; Alex Corbisiero, Dan Cole, Geoff Parling, Tom Youngs and Mako Vunipola.

Speaking on announcing both the senior party and the Saxons squad, England Head Coach Lancaster said: “Looking at both squads, it is obvious that there is a lot of depth and competition in every position, which is what we want.

“Many players are putting their hand up in the Aviva Premiership and Europe and they have a chance to impress in training as we build towards the games against Wales and the Wolfhounds.

“It’s great to welcome back some of those players unavailable for the QBE Internationals in the autumn. They offer us a lot of quality and experience. So too Nick Easter, who has played well for Harlequins.

“Given the injury to Ben Morgan,oth he and Tom Waldrom in the Saxons will provide us with specialist No 8 options alongside Billy Vunipola. That’s something we feel we need going into the tournament.

“We have plenty of players to consider and with some players still being assessed from last weekend after suffering knocks we have kept our options open.

“It’s a big European weekend ahead and there may be further changes once we assess the fitness of the players after round six and we will provide an update on Monday.

“We will use the four-day training camp and the Saxons game to narrow down selection as we lead into the opening game against Wales.

“We will be without Joe Launchbury and Ben [Morgan] and it was a real shame to see Ben Foden pick up his injury up last weekend. We will continue to work with Northampton Saints and Leicester Tigers with Courtney and Manu [Tuilagi] to see where they are as the Six Nations progresses.”

Lancaster added:  “Chris Robshaw will lead the team in the RBS 6 Nations. He has fully recovered from his shoulder injury and as we have seen over the last three years he is an outstanding captain who delivers consistently as a player and a leader.”


England Senior training squad


Dave Attwood (Bath Rugby)

Calum Clark (Northampton Saints)

Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers)

Alex Corbisiero (Northampton Saints)

Nick Easter (Harlequins)

Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints)

James Haskell (Wasps)

Graham Kitchener (Leicester Tigers)

George Kruis (Saracens)

Joe Marler (Harlequins)

Geoff Parling (Leicester Tigers)

Chris Robshaw (Harlequins, captain)

Mako Vunipola (Saracens)

Billy Vunipola (Saracens)

David Wilson (Bath Rugby)

Tom Wood (Northampton Saints)

Tom Youngs (Leicester Tigers)


Brad Barritt (Saracens)

Mike Brown (Harlequins)

Luther Burrell (Northampton Saints)

Danny Care (Harlequins)

Danny Cipriani (Sale Sharks)

Kyle Eastmond (Bath Rugby)

Owen Farrell (Saracens)

George Ford (Bath Rugby)

Alex Goode (Saracens)

Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby)

Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby)

Stephen Myler (Northampton Saints)

Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs)

Billy Twelvetrees (Gloucester Rugby)

Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby)

Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens)

Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)

Lancaster also announced the England Saxons squad for their game against the Irish Wolfhounds next week which includes Bath’s Sam Burgess alongside the likes of Chris Ashton.


England Saxons squad


Kieran Brookes (Newcastle Falcons)

Tom Croft (Leicester Tigers)

Christian Day (Northampton Saints)

Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs)

Dave Ewers (Exeter Chiefs)

Matt Garvey (Bath Rugby)

Ross Harrison (Sale Sharks)

Maro Itoje (Saracens)

Matt Kvesic (Gloucester Rugby)

Matt Mullan (Wasps)

Henry Thomas (Bath Rugby)

Thomas Waldrom (Exeter Chiefs)

Alex Waller (Northampton Saints)

Rob Webber (Bath Rugby)


Chris Ashton (Saracens)

Sam Burgess (Bath Rugby)

Elliot Daly (Wasps)

Ollie Devoto (Bath Rugby)

Lee Dickson (Northampton Saints, captain)

Chris Pennell (Worcester Warriors)

Joe Simpson (Wasps)

Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs)

Marland Yarde (Harlequins)

Christian Wade (Wasps)