The Rugby Championship 2014 is over and here is a team of The Rugby Championship based on statistics from

This team is selected based on numbers worn by players during the tournament in at least one game and the average number of fantasy points per game of each player.

There were some close calls with three standout locks, while Michael Hooper just edged out Sir Richie McCaw.


The highest scoring players were loose forwards and outside backs, with fullbacks, Number Eights and openside flankers scoring the most.

There were some unlucky players to miss the squad like Kieran Read, Conrad Smith, Jean De Villiers, Jan Serfontein, Sam Whitelock, Nicolas Sanchez, Richie McCaw, Dane Coles and Adriaan Strauss. Some of these players were victims of being substituted or injuries which meant that they played less minutes.

Personally, I think players like Richie McCaw, Jean de Villiers and Conrad Smith provide much more than what the statistics may suggest. I also think that the Argentinian props deserve inclusion after dominating every game.

There wasn’t really a standout first five eighth with most teams rotating players in that position for various reasons.

The Rugby Championship Team of the Round by country

New Zealand six (but only one forward)

Australia five

South Africa three

Argentina one

Interestingly Australia provided three forwards including two front-rowers which is ironic given that most people think their tight forwards are the worst in the competition.


The Rugby Championship 2014 XV

1 James Slipper (Australia)

2 Agustin Creevy (Argentina)

3. Sekope Kepu (Australia)

4 Brodie Retallick (New Zealand)

5 Victor Matfield (South Africa)

6 Marcell Coetzee (South Africa)

7 Michael Hooper (Australia)

8 Duane Vermeulen (South Africa)

9 Aaron Smith (New Zealand)

10 Aaron Cruden (New Zealand)

11 Julian Savea (New Zealand)

12 Malakai Fekitoa (New Zealand)

13 Tevita Kuridrani (Australia)

14. Ben Smith (New Zealand)

15 Israel Folau (Australia)

Republished with permission from

Do you agree with this The Rugby Championship 2014 XV? Who would you select?