All Blacks Squad Announced For The Rugby Championship

|||All Blacks Squad Announced For The Rugby Championship


The All Blacks selectors have named their team for The Rugby Championship 2014 with three changes from the June Internationals team.

As expected, Dan Carter, Sam Cane and Charles Piutau return to the All Blacks squad, while Steven Luatua replaces the injured Victor Vito and will provide cover as loose forward and lock.  Players unlucky to miss selection are Crusaders Matt Todd, Ryan Crotty and Colin Slade.

The selectors are also including Chiefs hooker Nathan Harris in their training, while Crusaders prop Joe Moody is included as cover for veteran Tony Woodcock.

What do you think of the All Blacks 2014 squad for the Rugby Championship?  

I think it is predictable, but it is ironic that Slade, Crotty and Todd have been in the best form of their careers this season, but get left out.  It shows the depth of New Zealand rugby.


Dane Coles Wellington / Hurricanes (18)
Keven Mealamu Auckland / Blues (113)

Wyatt Crockett Canterbury / Crusaders (27)
Charlie Faumuina Auckland / Blues (20)
Ben Franks Hawke’s Bay / Hurricanes (31)
Owen Franks Canterbury / Crusaders (57)
Tony Woodcock North Harbour / Blues (110)

Dominic Bird Canterbury / Crusaders (1)
Brodie Retallick Bay of Plenty / Chiefs (27)
Patrick Tuipulotu Auckland / Blues (2)
Samuel Whitelock Canterbury / Crusaders (54)

Loose forwards
Sam Cane Bay of Plenty / Chiefs (14)
Jerome Kaino Auckland / Blues (51)
Steven Luatua Auckland / Blues (11)
Richie McCaw (c) Canterbury / Crusaders (127)
Liam Messam Waikato / Chiefs (32)
Kieran Read Canterbury / Crusaders (62)


Tawera Kerr-Barlow Waikato / Chiefs (14)
TJ Perenara Wellington/ Hurricanes (3)
Aaron Smith Manawatu / Highlanders (29)

First five-eighths
Beauden Barrett Taranaki / Hurricanes (19)
Daniel Carter Canterbury / Crusaders (100)
Aaron Cruden Manawatu / Chiefs (32)

Malakai Fekitoa Auckland / Highlanders (2)
Ma’a Nonu Wellington / Blues (91)
Conrad Smith Wellington / Hurricanes (77)

Outside backs
Israel Dagg Hawke’s Bay / Crusaders (39)
Cory Jane Wellington / Hurricanes (48)
Charles Piutau Auckland / Blues (10)
Ben Smith Otago / Highlanders (29)
Julian Savea Wellington/ Hurricanes (22)


By |2014-07-28T12:11:21+00:00July 28th, 2014|

About the Author:

Scotty Donaldson is an All Blacks, Highlanders and long suffering Southland Stags rugby supporter who enjoys providing astute analysis through research and experience in sports writing. Super Rugby Tips provides him with the opportunity to provide valuable insight for punters with both fantasy and virtual rugby type competitions in mind. My highlights are the mighty Southland Stags winning the Ranfurly Shield first the first time in over 50 years in 2009 and being at Eden Park to watch the All Blacks win the 2011 Rugby World Cup final.