Although it is difficult to fit a North vs South Island fixture into an already congested rugby season, I thought it would be great to hypothetically name the teams assuming all players are fit and available.

The North vs South Island fixture was an annual match played between 1897 and 1995 and it was played as a fundraiser in 2012 at Dunedin’s Forsyth Barr Stadium.  Unfortunately the 2012 version didn’t include any current All Blacks.


Given the domination of the All Blacks in recent seasons, both of these teams could potentially make the Rugby World Cup Quarter Finals.

The North vs South Island teams below are based on Super Rugby 2014 teams with the Blues, Chiefs and Hurricanes playing the Crusaders and Hurricanes.  Sure, the North Island has more players to choose from, but the South Island may be advantaged by having a predominantly Crusaders team and therefore better combinations.

This match was traditionally based on the provincial allegiance, but given how the All Blacks hardly play ITM Cup rugby these days, it is probably better to base it on Super Rugby 2014.  It is also easier given how many players are signed for provinces outside their Super Rugby franchise region.

We would assume that injured players like Charles Piutau and Luke Romano can be selected.

Players must be eligible for the All Blacks, so Crusaders winger Nemani Nadolo couldn’t play left wing for the South.

This match would make a great All Blacks trial.

Who would win this match?

What do you think of these North vs South Island Teams 2014?

There are major talking points based on the lack of depth at hooker and in the midfield, while there is plenty of depth at Number Eight and prop.  There are some good Number Eights like Steven Luatua and Nasi Manu who would make most other international squads, but would struggle to represent the North or South Island.

Shane Christie has been in such good form that he is too difficult to leave out.



15. Charles Piutau

14. Cory Jane

13. Conrad Smith

12. Ma’a Nonu

11. Julian Savea

10. Beauden Barrett

9. TJ Perenara

8. Jerome Kaino

7. Sam Cane

6. Liam Messam

5. Brodie Retallick

4. Patrick Tuipulotu

3. Ben Franks

2. Dane Coles

1. Tony Woodcock


16. Keven Mealamu

17. Charlie Faumuina

18. Ben Tameifuna

19. Jeremy Thrush

20. Victor Vito

21. Tawera Kerr-Barlow

22. Aaron Cruden

23. Tim Nanai-Williams


15. Israel Dagg

14. Ben Smith

13. Malakai Fekitoa

12. Ryan Crotty

11. Patrick Osborne

10. Colin Slade

9. Aaron Smith

8. Kieran Read

7. Shane Christie

6.  Richie McCaw

5. Sam Whitelock

4. Luke Romano

3. Owen Franks

2. Liam Coltman

1. Wyatt Crockett


16. Corey Flynn

17. Kane Hames

18. Chris King

19. Dominic Bird

20.  Luke Whitelock

21. Andy Ellis

22. Lima Sopoaga

23. Tom Taylor