Stuart Lancaster has added 21 names to his England training squad that will prepare for the tour of New Zealand and the international against the Barbarians at Twickenham on Sunday, June 1.


There are 18 players from Leicester Tigers and Harlequins after both sides were knocked out of the Aviva Premiership at the semi-final stage, all of whom will join up with the existing party at the Lensbury Club on Wednesday evening.

That number includes Chris Robshaw, who has captained England in 25 of their past 28 Tests.

James Gaskell, Ross Harrison (both Sale Sharks) and Rob Webber (Bath Rugby) make up the group of new arrivals having arrived in Teddington last night.


England Head Coach Stuart Lancaster said: “Following the Aviva Premiership semi-finals we are keen to give the players from Harlequins and Leicester some time away before joining camp and will look to bring them in towards the end of the week.

“We’ve brought Rob Webber in for further assessment and treatment in order to give him the best possible chance of making the tour to New Zealand. James Gaskell and Ross Harrison are rewarded for their development this season and will be joining up in due course in order to prepare for the Barbarians game.”

Further players will be added from Bath Rugby and London Wasps following the conclusion of the Amlin Challenge Cup final (May 23) and the European Rugby Champions Cup play-off second leg (May 24), with a further group from Saracens and Northampton Saints joining the tour party after the Aviva Premiership final (May 31).

The final squads for the New Zealand tour and the Barbarians match will be announced at 12pm on Monday, May 26.


“We’ll train today and tomorrow and have a larger group for Thursday and Friday,” Lancaster added. “Then, following an assessment of the weekend’s games, we will meet and narrow down selection for the Barbarians and New Zealand tour and announce both squads on Monday.”

Players added to England training squad

Anthony Allen (Leicester Tigers)
Mike Brown (Harlequins)
Ross Buchanan (Harlequins)
Danny Care (Harlequins)
Will Collier (Harlequins)
James Gaskell (Sale Sharks)
Jamie Gibson (Leicester Tigers)
Joe Gray (Harlequins)
Ross Harrison (Sale Sharks)
Graham Kitchener (Leicester Tigers)
Joe Marler (Harlequins)
Charlie Matthews (Harlequins)
Geoff Parling (Leicester Tigers)
Chris Robshaw (Harlequins)
Ed Slater (Leicester Tigers)
Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins)
Manusamoa Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers)
Luke Wallace (Harlequins)
Dave Ward (Harlequins)
Rob Webber (Bath Rugby)
Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)