We are halfway through Super Rugby 2014 and now is an ideal time to see who the best players are in Super Rugby with an eye towards the June International Test Matches and The Rugby Championship.  It is also a guide to which conference is the strongest.  Selections are based on statistics from fantasy rugby website www.testrugby.com and based on average points per game and which position the player has been playing in most, rather than where he is listed in www.testrugby.com.  This does get confusing, especially in South Africa, but it is an easier way of analysing the players rather than simply by position.

Number Eights and fullbacks seem to score the highest in their positions and so there are some unlucky players who miss out like Scott Higginbotham, Phillip van der Walt, Kieran Read, Willie Le Roux and Jason Woodward.

Super Rugby

Players are also only included in positions that they played most matches in, rather than where they are listed on fantasy website www.testrugby.com .  Robbie Coleman for example, is listed in the midfield, but has played on the wing for the Brumbies, while Kurtley Beale is listed as an outside back, but has mainly been playing in the Waratahs Number 12 jersey.


There are plenty of household names in this team including Bismarck du Plessis, Israel Folau, Beauden Barrett,Sam Whitelock, Brodie Retallick, James Slipper, Ben McCalman, Julian Savea and Kurtley Beale.  This is good for their teams heading into the international season.

Israel Folau has the highest fantasy average out of any player.


Which conference is really the strongest in Super Rugby 2014?
Team of Super Rugby 2014 by country
Australia 4
New Zealand 7
South Africa 4

There are no New Zealanders in the front row, while there are no South Africans in the backline outside Cobus Reinach.

This squad is stacked with international players, although it is great to see some young talents like Malakai Fekitoa and Tim Nanai-Williams in this team.

What do you think of the Super Rugby 2014 Team of the Competition?  Who would you select in this team?



Super 15 Rugby Form XV
1. James Slipper (Reds)
2. Bismarck du Plessis (Sharks)
3. Frans Malherbe (Stormers)
4. Sam Whitelock (Crusaders)
5. Brodie Retallick (Chiefs)
6. Marcell Coetzee (Sharks)
7. Luke Braid (Blues)
8. Ben McCalman (Force)
9. Cobus Reinach (Sharks)
10. Beauden Barrett (Hurricanes)
11. Julian Savea (Hurricanes)
12. Kurtley Beale (Waratahs)
13. Malakai Fekitoa (Highlanders)
14. Tim Nanai-Williams (Chiefs)
15. Israel Folau (Waratahs)


Republished with permission www.testrugby.com