Highlanders Super Rugby 2014 Team

|||Highlanders Super Rugby 2014 Team

The Highlanders 2014 squad looks a shadow of their 2013 counterparts missing plenty of established All Blacks.  The good thing is that they can’t do much worse than they did last year.  The Chiefs have proved that you don’t need a star team and to win a Super Rugby title, so there is still hope for the Highlanders in 2014. 


It is going to be difficult for the Highlanders given their lack of quality outside backs with Aaron and Ben Smith the only current All Blacks in their squad.  It makes it scary given the calibre of other teams and it also makes it difficult to pick a team given that only Aaron and Ben Smith, Nasi Manu, John Hardie and Josh Bekhuis are definite starters.

This would be my starting squad assuming Super Rugby has a seven man bench.

What are your thoughts on this Highlanders Super Rugby 2014 team?

15. Ben Smith
14. Patrick Osborne
13. Malakai Fekitoa
12. Shaun Treeby
11. Kurt Baker
10. Willie Ripia
9. Aaron Smith
8. Nasi Manu
7. John Hardie
6. Elliot Dixon
5.  Josh Bekhuis
4.  Brad Thorn
3.  Matias Dias
2.  Liam Coltman
1.  Chris King
16.  Brayden Mitchell
17.  M Fia
18.  Jarrad Hoeata
19.  TJ Ioane
20.  F Tanaka
21.  L Sopoaga
22.  P Burleigh
23.  B Popalií



By |2014-01-23T13:57:59+00:00January 23rd, 2014|

About the Author:

Scotty Donaldson is an All Blacks, Highlanders and long suffering Southland Stags rugby supporter who enjoys providing astute analysis through research and experience in sports writing. Super Rugby Tips provides him with the opportunity to provide valuable insight for punters with both fantasy and virtual rugby type competitions in mind. My highlights are the mighty Southland Stags winning the Ranfurly Shield first the first time in over 50 years in 2009 and being at Eden Park to watch the All Blacks win the 2011 Rugby World Cup final.