International Player of the Year Award Nominations

irb international player of the year awareThe IRB have released their list of 45 players (3 from each position) who are in contention for the International Player of the Year award. As well as the player of the year, players and officials will also be invited to vote for their International Newcomer of the Year, International Team of the Year, and World XV of the Year from the list of nominees.

Fans will also have the chance to vote for their own Player and World XV of the Year awards using the Ultimate Rugby mobile app.

15: Willie Le Roux (RSA), Leigh Halfpenny (Wal), Israel Dagg (NZL)

14: Israel Folau (Aus), Ben Smith (NZL), Napolioni Nalaga (Fij)

13: Wesley Fofana (Fr), Jonathan Davies (Wales), Conrad Smith (NZL)

12: Jamie Roberts (Wal), Ma’a Nonu (NZL), Jean de Villiers (RSA)

11: George North (Wal), Julian Savea (NZL), Sitiveni Sivivatu (NZL)

10: Dan Carter (NZL), Johnny Sexton (Ire), Aaron Cruden (NZL)

9: Kahn Fotuali’l (Sam), Aaron Smith (NZL), Will Genia (Aus)

8: Kieran Read (NZL), Sergio Parisse (Ita), Toby Faletau (Wal)

7: Sean O’Brien (Ire), Richie McCaw (NZL), Francois Louw (RSA)

6: Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe (Arg), Louis Picamoles (Fra), Liam Messam(NZL)

5: James Horwill (Aus), Brodie Retallick (NZL), Alun Wyn Jones (Wal)

4: Sam Whitelock (NZL), Eben Eztebeth (RSA), Joe Tekori (Sam)

3: Juan Figallo (Arg), Adam Jones (Wal), Census Johnston (Sam)

2: Bismarck Du Plessis (RSA), Benjamin Kayser (Fra) Richard Hibbard (Wal)

1: Vincent Debaty (Fra), Alex Corbiseiro (Eng), Marcos Ayerza (Arg)

Here’s how we would award each category;

International Player of the Year – Kieran Read

International Newcomer of the Year – Israel Folau

World XV of the Year –

15: Leigh Halfpenny (Wal)

14: Israel Folau (Aus)

13: Wesley Fofana (Fr)

12: Jamie Roberts (Wal)

11: George North (Wal)

10: Dan Carter (NZL)

9: Kahn Fotuali’l (Sam)

8: Kieran Read (NZL)

7: Sean O’Brien (Ire)

6: Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe (Arg)

5: Brodie Retallick (NZL)

4:  Eben Eztebeth (RSA)

3: Adam Jones (Wal)

2: Bismarck Du Plessis (RSA)

1: Alex Corbiseiro (Eng)

Have your say below and let us know who you would vote for in each category…




  1. Jean de Villiers for #12 no contest

  2. 1/2p 15
    JD 13
    De Villiers 12
    Louw 7

    would be my changes

  3. Halfpenny 15
    De Villiers 12
    Smith 9


  4. Think Michael Hooper is hard done by to not get the nomination. Shining light for the Wallabies this season and consistent, solid performances against every opponent. Massive engine and ticker.

  5. Ben Smith for International player of the year no doubt.

  6. Greig Laidlaw should definately be in there at 9

  7. Ben Smith?? Outclasses all other 11’s and 14’s there this year. Also Sam Whitelock over Retallick. I agree de Villiers for the 12 jersey as well.

Leave a Reply