The ITM Cup rugby is over for 2013 with Canterbury winning their sixth straight title with a 29 – 13 win over Wellington, while Tasman won a cliff hanger 26-25 over Hawke’s Bay.

itm cupCanterbury’s experience in winning the big games with experienced campaigners like Andy Ellis and George Whitelock in their element shone through as Canterbury won 29 -13.  Canterbury were simply too good with their five current All Blacks squad members shining through.  Wellington will be disappointed not to win their first title since 2000, especially since they won the round robin game and played the final at home.

Tasman’s season threatened to come off the rails as Hawke’s Bay pushed the Makos closer than anticipated when winning 26-25.  Ihaia West had the chance to snatch a late victory, but his conversion missed from near the sideline.  Both of these teams would be competitive in the ITM Cup Premiership in 2014, but unfortunately for the Magpies, West’s miss may not only cost the Magpies promotion and the ITM Cup Championship title, but it may prove why he has potentially missed out on a Super Rugby contract in New Zealand.

Marty Banks became the top points scorer in ITM Cup 2013 tied with Otago’s Hayden Parker when he moved to 170 points, while Ihaia West finished on 169 points.

Canterbury and Tasman are ITM Cup championships for 2013.  Do you think they were the best teams in the ITM Cup Championship and Premiership?  Did they deserve to win?

Morales won the ITM Cup tipping conference on SuperBru.  Morales is from Romania and is obviously a huge rugby fan.  Well done!