The Inaugural World Club 7s will be the first competition to bring together some of the best club and provincial sides across the globe. As well as introducing some unknown, emerging 7s talent, the World Club 7s will build towards the growth of the variation of the 15-a-side game in preparation of the 2016 Rio Olympics. Due to return again in 2014 & 15 hopefully after an expansion, this intriguing tournament is due to be televised to over 100 million worldwide.

With deals ranging from Sky in New Zealand,  Fox Sports in Australia, OSN in the Middle East and BT Sport in the UK, the tournament will have a terrific opportunity to bring in the interest of many new fans. Clubs and Provincial sides from; America, Argentina, Russia, England, South Africa, New Zealand and Australia will all compete across Saturday 17th and Sunday 18th August to be the holders of the first ever Word Club 7s Trophy, pictured below.




Pool A

Winner of J.P. Morgan Premiership Rugby 7s Series-(Leicester or Gloucester or Newcastle or Worcester or Saracens)

VVA Moscow Region

New York

DHL Western Province

Pool B

Buenos Aires

Northampton Saints

San Francisco

Vodacom Blue Bulls

Pool C

ACT Brumbies



Kuban Krasnador


League Point accumulation during the Pool stage
• 4 Points for winning a Match
• 2 Points for drawing a Match
• 1 Point for scoring four or more tries in a Match
• 1 Point for a loss by seven points or less in a Match


Pool Ranking / Seeding Criteria
• League Points
• Most Wins
• Greatest Points Difference
• Greatest Points For
• Number of Tries scored


Top two teams of each pool plus two best third places will contest in the Cup QFs. Winners will progress to Cup Semi’s whilst losers will play in the Plate Semi’s. The 4 lowest finishers in the 3 Pools will contest for the Shield.

It’s hard to await something of such a terrific prospect! With little time left until the first Drop Kick off a ball, a few teams have announced their players who will light up the turf at Twickers.

South African team, DHL Western Province:

Carel du Preez, Josh, Bassingthwaighte, Danie Roux, Armien Bailey, Stefan de Villiers, Werner Kok, Ryan Nell, Ivan-John du Preez, Arno Johnson, Henry Wolhuter, JP Lewis, Danwill Erasmus

American team, San Francisco GG Rugby:

Danny Barrett, Neil Barrett, Garrett Brewer, Michael Haley, Jack Halalilo, Carlin Isles, Tim Maupin, Mile Pulu, Volney Rouse, Mike Te’o, Bruce Thomas and Mose Timoteo (Captain)


Notice the ‘fastest rugby player on earth’ Carlin Isles. Having only turned to the 7s code recently after being a 100m athlete, Isles’ already pacey and extraordinary form of play is becoming more rounded as his experiences increase. The USA 7s player will be joined by fellow countrymen and 7s representatives Jack Halalilo and Mike Te’o.

With not only club but international glory on the line, it will be interesting to see the teams from the Brumbies, Quins, Saints and the Blues alike.


Tune in to BT Sport on August 17th and 18th.