Twickenham is set to host stage to the inaugural World Club 7s tournament this August. For the first time the competition will bring together the best club sides from both established and emerging teams from the Northern and Southern hemisphere. The tournament will bring together clubs from Auckland to Los Angeles and out to Moscow in a competition that will be the first of its kind.

12 teams are set to battle it out for the tournaments top prize over 17 and 18 August 2013 at Twickenham Stadium. The teams competing will include the top English teams from this year’s domestic Sevens Championship, who are expected to be joined by the likes of the Western Province from South Africa, Auckland Blues from New Zealand, the ACT Brumbies from Australia, and Buenos Aires of Argentina in addition to New York, Los Angeles and Moscow.

The tournament is then set to expand further in 2014 and 2015 as sevens prepares itself for an Olympic bow at Rio 2016. The club tournament will continue to expand involving the best sevens club teams set to battle it out across the world in a similar format to the HSBC sevens world series.

“Rugby is about to enter a unique era for the sport with Sevens – which is finally returning to the Olympics – at the centre of what we believe will be a huge growth in all forms of the game,” said Premiership Rugby Chief Executive Mark McCafferty, who confirmed 12 teams will contest the inaugural tournament.

“Rugby’s long-awaited return to the Olympics means that many of the players who could be battling it out for gold in Rio in 2016 will be on show at Twickenham on 17-18 August.”

The hope for the future is for teams to have to qualify for the event, for the time being however the tournament will be on an invitation only basis with the following teams already confirmed; Auckland Blues, Western Province, ACT Brumbies, Buenos Aires, New York, Los Angeles, Moscow

“Negotiations are continuing with other teams but already we have a mouth-watering two days of world class Sevens heading for Twickenham in August,” added McCafferty.

“These teams will be joined by Aviva Premiership Rugby clubs, who will have qualified from the well-established J.P. Morgan Premiership Rugby 7s, which will kick off at Kingsholm on 1 August this year.

“We are also committed to contributing to the success of developing nations so you will see two Russian sides in Twickenham, going toe to toe with teams from the top rugby nations.”